Beickert sworn-in as Currituck Sheriff

Following the retirement of Sheriff Susan Johnson, Matt Beickert was sworn-in as Sheriff on June 1, 2018, during a ceremony at the courthouse. Johnson retired after 18 years as Sheriff, and the Board of Commissioners appointed Beickert as her replacement.

Beickert, who has been with the Sheriff’s Office for 21 years, was sworn-in by Ray Matusko, Clerk of Superior Court.  Prior to his appointment, Beickert was the Chief Deputy of the Sheriff’s Office under Johnson

During the ceremony, Matusko also administered the oath of office for the following positions in the Sheriff’s Office: Jeff Walker as Chief Deputy; Jaymes Holden as Captain; and David Castelow as Captain. Congratulations to each on their accomplishments!